The best Italian restaurants in Perth

I received a comment on my blog that asked me what are the best Italian restaurants are in Perth. I have a few favourites Italian eateries, plus lots that I would love to try one day.

My two favourite Italian restaurants/cafe’s are, in no particular order:
* Borsalino Ristorante, Hampden Road, Nedlands – Italian fine dining with usually really good service. Believe me, the prices are worth the food you get as they serve fresh food. I’ve also heard that real chefs adore the food at this restaurant. It is possibly the best (or at least one of the best) Italian restaurants in Perth.

If you can afford it (and have a large appetite or skip lunch), try the degustation menu. A degustation menu is basically a tasting or sampling of various dishes in the menu (or even sometimes outside of the regular menu). The degustation menu changes every now and then at Borsalino. I don’t know if they have this on the degustation menu any more, but the last time I went there they had Bocconcini as one of the dishes. The Bocconcini, which is a “Spinach and ricotta soufflings oven baked in a creamy mascarpone cheese sauce” was absolutely divine! Even my step-brother who is really picky with the quality of the food he eats loves it.

* Ciao Italia, cnrs Mill Point Road and Douglas Avenue, South Perth. This is one of my favourite Italian places. And also possibly because it was conveniently located near uni. The only problem is that you can’t book, and they should really move to another premises as it is really tight and cosy in that restaurant. My favourite dish here is the Calzone pizza. A Calzone is a fold-over pizza, like a large pizza puff. Just imagine a curry puff except instead of a curry puff filling, it has pizza filling in it.

However, as I mentioned previously, I still have lots more to try on my Italian eateries list, such as Spaghi’s in South Perth, Maurizio Restaurant at the Italian Club in Perth, and more.

I’m interested in visiting Maurizio Resturant in particular because Maurizio Restaurant has a fortnightly event called Il Giro D’Italia which is a year long culinary journey through Italy. In the Il Giro D’Italia, they serve foods from different regions of Italy. I find this interesting because when you visit the Italian restaurants here, they tend to serve almost the same thing in their menus. So it would be nice to eat different Italian regional cuisines once in a while. 🙂

If anyone has any particular favourites they would like to share with us, please let us know. 🙂

14 responses to “The best Italian restaurants in Perth

  1. The ‘Bocconcini’ sounds lovely and I’m tempted to be a partial vegan again. *sound of smacking lips*

  2. hehe nothing wrong with being partial vegan. as long as i get to eat my dosage of meat once in a while. :p

  3. Well, I’m tempted to ask you what do you mean by ‘meat’ in that context?

  4. you know, meat, as opposed to vegetables.

  5. Oh..that meat…*tee heeee heee*

  6. what were you thinking of exactly….

  7. I was thinking of soya-based sausages. They’re yummy!

  8. Lol! Um, no. But can I have real meat in them? 😀

  9. Hi angie!

    Thanks for putting this post up. 🙂

    I have been to Ciao Italia once, and it was lovely! Only thing that has stopped me from going back there is the long wait for a table. Shows how good they are huh!

    I live north of the river, and I will certainly try the places you’ve mentioned. THanks a million! 🙂

  10. Hi MizAnge!

    No problem, it is my pleasure. 🙂

    Yes I agree, the problem with Ciao Italia is that there’s usually a long line if you don’t go early! But it shows how good they are.

    Although I heard from a friend’s friend that they really don’t like Ciao Italia and prefer Valentino’s instead. Euw!

    Hmm.. north of the river eh? Have you ever heard of Caffe Martino’s in Mt Lawley? They do $11.95 specials Monday to Friday. I heard they are not bad, but I haven’t personally been there. If you do intend to go there you better book ahead as I heard it gets booked out very quickly.

  11. A reali reali good place NOR…is Da Vinci on Scarborough Beach Rd North Perth…opp. the BP petrol station…

    OMG!!! 🙂 quality is sssooo good….service is good…
    everytime i go there the food is always at its best…. n u can NEVER ever except any less from them!

    Tiramisu is realli good there too…..

  12. My picks would probably be Spaghi in South Perth, and Ecco in Subiaco. Spaghi is frenetic, boisterous and you usually have to wait for a seat – always a good sign IMO. The pasta is ave a homemade, and the entree of field mushroom and salad is terrific. Ecco is tiny and easy to miss, but their pizza crust is probably the best I’ve tried in Perth. Speaking of pizza, Delizioso does a mean pizza by the slab and is a great place for a quick bite.

  13. I like Ecco, but I heard it’s gone really downhill lately? I don’t know whether that is true or not.

    One of my friend’s friend’s loves Spaghi… when she comes back down here to visit her boyfriend we’ll probably end up going to Spaghi’s to catch up.

    Delizioso is good, but it’s so so. I like pizza by the slab… it reminds me of the pizza I had whilst in Canada. I had home stay with an Italian-Ukranian family (ie my host mother was Italian, my host father was Ukranian). Talk about really good authentic Italian. *heart*

  14. I’m looking forward to reviewing Monza in Leederville. Anyone else done it yet?

Leave a Reply

