Banana Cake Recipe

My mum decided that I should make Banana Cake today. No, seriously – she made me make it.

When I came home from work yesterday evening, she shoved a piece of paper into my hand and said, “I want you to make banana cake. Can you make it tonight and get all the ingredients out after dinner?”

I didn’t make it after dinner. That’s my TV time!

She was annoyed at me so she woke me up like 3 times this morning between 7-8 am telling me to get up to make cake. So finally I gave in because I figured she would just keep waking me up until I made the banana cake!

Here’s the recipe for the banana cake which she got somewhere from the Internet. The cake turned out quite well, except the time the recipe stated that it should be in the oven was wrong for my oven. Instead of the required 20 minutes, we needed to put it in the oven for about 32 minutes or so.

Banana Cake Recipe
Ingredients
170 grams butter
300 grams white sugar
3 eggs
5mL Vanilla Extract (or Vanilla Essence)
180mL Sour Milk
225 grams mashed bananas
310 grams all-purpose flour
3 grams salt
2 grams baking powder

Method
Mix together butter, sugar, eggs and vanilla essence in a large bowl. Set aside.

In another bowl, sift together the flour, salt and baking powder. Then add this bowl to the creamed mixture (ie, the other bowl with the butter, sugar, eggs and vanilla).

Then add sour milk and the mashed bananas to the mixture, then beat it together well.

Put the mixture into a cake loaf tin.

Warm the oven up at 175 Celsius, and put the cake in for about 30 minutes. (And check it at the 20 minute mark just in case the baking time in the recipe actually works in your oven).

Leave a Reply

