It is so good it is Craptastic!!!

Ok, most people who know me, know that I have a caffeine addition. Other people have a cocaine addiction, I need my caffeine hit baby!! Yeah I know, I’m real hardcore. ๐Ÿ˜› Anyways, a friend of mine sent me a newspaper article on it, so I thought I write about it. It was shown on Oprah as well, so you may have read about this, or maybe you haven’t, there’s this coffee available called Kopi Luwak. For those of you who don’t know what it is, I’ll tell you. ๐Ÿ˜€

Kopi Luwak is definitely not for the faint-hearted. It is considered a gourmet treat and an experience in itself. The cost of a cup of this coffee “experience”? $50 at a Queensland tea room. Yeah, and you thought the prices at your local cafe was excessive! So what is so special about this coffee?

Well… the way the coffee bean is processed is what makes it so different and so special and it is basically what is generating the hype. Regular coffee beans as you know are picked when they are ripe, processed and then roasted before being grounded up and brewed for that perfect cup of joe. When Kopi Luwak has a few extra steps before it is processed. The first step that occurs, is that is it that a cat like creature called an Asian Palm civet or Luwak (hence the name)comes along and eats the ripe coffee berries. The berries is then digested, though some speculate that it is due to the enzymes in the civet’s stomach that breaks down the bitterness of the coffee, giving it the unique flavor. The berries are then passes through and excreted by the Luwak, the poo (lets call it what it is) is then collected and goes through a cleaning and drying process. The seeds are then roasted. The roasting should kill off the bacteria and other nasties on it. So are you salivating yet?food, coffee, travel, culture, Coffee Berries, berry, berries, coffee, the wandering gourmet + food, travel, culture, coffee, berry, luwak, the wandering gourmet = luwak, poo, kopi, coffee, food, culture, travel, social club, gourmet, the wandering gourmet = coffee, food, travel, luwak, cat, crap, poo, social club, wandering gourmet

Well if you aren’t adventurous enough to try this coffee out, you may want to consider who has tried and enjoyed this unusual brew, H.R.H. the Queen of England, and the lady the with Midas touch, Oprah.

7 responses to “It is so good it is Craptastic!!!

  1. Well, personally I don’t like coffee to begin with, so I’ll give it a pass, thank you very much!

    Great article though, I enjoyed reading it! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I love a good cup of coffee. Actually I’m obessed with coffee. However I don’t know if I can bring myself to drink a Poop-acino though.

  3. I dunno… I’m curious enough to try it, but I can’t promise I will keep it down. :S

  4. I hope they don’t do that with tea I like. *looks anxiously*

  5. Hmmm…. Ange I just got another business idea! We are gonna need a cat and a a box of Ceylon tea!!!. ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. nnnnnnnnnnnoooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. Pingback: Jack

Leave a Reply

