Simple baby food recipe, yum or not yum?

Food for babes! 

Ok, reverting back to my vegan diet has led me to google up numerous vegan recipes. For some funny reasons, I typed baby as abby. So if you do see an Abby gal on the road, say, Hi Baby Abby. Kiddin! 😉

Back to vegan recipes. I came across one that erm, sounded not so droolycious to me. Let me show you the el cheapo/simple baby food recipe.

INGREDIENTS

  •  
    • 3 medium potatoes
    • 8 oz / 230 g spinach
    • 2 large cloves garlic (patooey!)

METHOD

Peel and cube potatoes. Crush and peel garlic. Cook potatoes, spinach, and garlic with about 1/2 cup water for about 15 minutes over high heat, or until potatoes are soft. Dump it all in a food processor and process until very mushy.For baby food: Freeze in ice-cube trays overnight, then pop out cubes and store in another container in the freezer.

Serves: 20 babies or 1 blooming adult like myself.
Preparation time: 20 minutes (Yay! I could spend less time in the kitchen)

What do I think about it?
Mushy, processed food left in the fridge for non-baby teeth peeps like you and I, doesn’t sound quite appealing to me. Besides, I completely detest garlic. For simple baby food recipes, just head over to your nearest hypermart and grab those droolycious baby food. That will save the baby from being olfactorily scarred for the rest of his/her life. *scrolls down in search for avocado-based recipes.* Now that’s yum 😉

4 responses to “Simple baby food recipe, yum or not yum?

  1. You should share this with people on Minti. I’m sure they would appreciate knowing how to make cheap baby food. 😉

    Oh wait. I think I’m the only member of Minti here in this whole site. Mmm. Well. I might put it up. One day.

  2. So, yum or not yum?

  3. Well….. I think it could be yum if you were in the mood for mash. 🙂

  4. I’m gonna ask what I think everyone else reading this is thinking…..Why were you looking for baby recipes?

Leave a comment