Favourite Destinations

Where would you like to go and why? A simple question, with a huge range of response. Some people just want to go back to the neighborhood they grew up in, some would like to see one of the world’s most spectacular artifacts, such as the Mayan ruins, or the Great Wall of China. Whatever it is, everyone usually have a place which they would love to go see at least once in their lifetime.

For me, I have a few places. One of the places I would love to go to is Tibet. Not because, according to one of my best friend, I want to see my friend get chased by a mountain goat….OK, maybe a little bit. 😉 I want to go to Tibet, because it is one of those places that although everyone has heard of it and knows where it is (I’m saying generally), it remains pretty much a mystery as to what it looks like. People, like my aforementioned friend, think of it as mountain village where the Dalai Lama happens to be from. I’m pretty sure that there is a city there. Or their version of a city, and I would love to see that. I already know I’m not going to be able to see the peak of Mount Everest, lets face it I’m not a mountain climber and the thought of spending more than a week in a tent scares me(bad family camping holiday experience), let alone spending many days in a tent in freezing weather and high altitudes. 😦 So if I can’t go to the peak of the world, why not the highest city in the world? 😀

Hehe... Goats

So where in the world would you like to go and why would that be a place you want to go to? 🙂

5 responses to “Favourite Destinations

  1. Antarctica. I’ve always wanted to go there because it is like the last wilderness on earth. I know that by visiting there I’m causing Antarctica to be damaged more, but I guess my reasoning is that if people are going to visit there, why can’t I too?

    Failing that, I would like to visit China for the history, culture and food. I would also like to go visit Hainan Island, where my roots are from (well, the traceable parts at least). My family still owns the family house there.

    I’d also like to go back to my hometown to visit my family and get to learn more about the indigenous Malaysian tribe I’m from properly (and from a non-tourist viewpoint). And also go backpacking in the jungles and stay at Uncle Tan’s in Sandakan, even though I might end up missing email and MSN. :-/

  2. Ooooo, Antarctica was on my list too!! My reasoning is, as long as I get to see it before everyone comes in and damages it, I’m all good. 😛 The other places are: Venice, because it is apparently sinking, I saw the Water Village in China and that was pretty interesting, even if no one lives there anymore. Brazil, I want to go see the Mardi Gras!!!! And back to China again, I didn’t get to go to Beijing last time, and I would like to see the Great Wall, but not the side near Beijing, from my parents’ recount, its become too commercialized. Oh and Egypt! Those Pyramids rock!! 🙂

  3. I’m surprised you didn’t type that you wanted to see the pandas in China…

  4. I can see that in a zoo. 😛 It didn’t have to be in China! ROFL!

  5. Pfft…… but it’s in Chengdu. Chengdu is cool. :p

Leave a Reply

