Dinner Fanfare 190KMs away!

….that took abot 2-2.5 hours of driving. I still cannot believe I drove that far for food Well, not that it’s any different from other places but I’d to attend a rather, festive-like dinner in commeration of my grandaunts 95th birthday. Boy, I’d love to be at her age :p

The restaurant that I’d to go to was in Ipoh, which would roughly acrue to about 190km or so from Kuala Lumpur.

I don’t have any form of addy, and neither do I recall the name of the restaurant but I did however, manage to make up for my short term memory by showing you food(s) that were on display and digested by our tummies.Yes, they were good and I don’t know how much everything would have amounted to.

First dish, started with a ‘pau’ that had red marzipan-ish letterings on it, Fertility. How fertile that is I don’t know as grandaunt’s childless.

This was promptly followed by a seafood fanfare of lobsters, crabs, lobster meats in salads etc. I don’t know what other things may have entailed in this fare but this was by far, my favourite.

Large scary looking lobbie 😀

And a huge roasted pig. Say cheese dahlings. I nearly puked as it was oily, imagine eating a whole chunk of lard.

And was quickly followed by shark fins soup. Yes, I know that PETA would probaby be pissed at me for this but it was all very much a part of the banquet. Oh, this soup was shark fins + crab roe. Erm, anyone for the roes?

Ooh my next favourite! Loads of lily buds, on little vegs I have no known name for and century eggs. *literally century eggs as they’re known for their rather putrid taste but aren’t exactly 100 year old eggs ;)* What could be as bad as a balut?

Fish. Looks very much dissected.

Mango pudding on some Japanese jello. The chinese word, if I’m not mistaken it means, Double Happiness/Prosperity? Will someone help me out here?

I could have taken more pics but seriously, I was grossed out by the amount of food/dishes that led to waste.

6 responses to “Dinner Fanfare 190KMs away!

  1. uh huh!!
    double happiness it is!!! =P

  2. Or you can take me here. I love the double happiness mango pudding! It’s pretty!

  3. It tastes good as well 😀 and on closer inspection, it looks like a dragon being kissed by a phoenix. Sexay!

  4. Now I want it! Yes, that’s right – next year for my birthday, lets skip the presents. I believe I’m missing a Honda cake and now I’m missing a dragon kissed by a phoenix mango pudding cake! 😉

  5. Ange, you sound suspiciously like Danni…. Oooo Sharkfin soup! ~.~

  6. I haven’t seen Dan in ages, even on MSN. I’ll have to add her to my work MSN.

    But Dan doesn’t like Honda right?

Leave a Reply

