Pancake – The Malaysian Way

Well, it seems true thus far though :p

I was on a eating frenzy a few nights ago, pretty much ravaging whatever I could lay my eyes on.

*or feast my olfactories & tastebuds on, that is*, when I stumbled upon this Malaysian-style

Pancake. I know it’s not like your usual pancake of maple syrup/golden syrup, served hot and down it goes.

This is, still served hot but it comes with more goodies than your usual maple syrup.

This malaysian pancake is called, Apam Balik (malay) or Tai Kao Meen (canto) – literally for big face.

It has crushed peanuts, filled to its brim, with caramelised sugar, sweet corn or

creamy corn (whichever way you want it)

all in its core and when it’s done, it’s folded into half, cut into pizza-sized shapes.

It costs only MYR 0.50 / A$0.17 / US$0.15 / Eur 0.11 per piece.

Talk about cheapness!

*on a sidenote, it’s high in carbohydrates so if you’re an avid Atkins dieter, it’s best to stay as far away as possible ;)*

5 responses to “Pancake – The Malaysian Way

  1. Those are wicked…I always eat them when I go back…mmm…
    *jealous* lol

  2. I don’t think I’ve ever had something like this before apart from a martabak / matabak / however you spell it.

    I miss a good martabak manis…. mmm… now that I don’t learn Indonesian any more, I’m totally out of the loop of when the Indonesian Food Fairs are on. 😦

  3. OMG!!! THIS IS MY FAVOURITEOUS PANCAKE IN THE WHOLEST WIDEST WORLD!!!! Anyone have a recipe for it? 😀

  4. Esther’s put up a blog entry about the Malaysian pancake in her latest blog entry.

    I don’t know if you hear me across the table last night when you asked me how come I hadn’t heard about this pancake. I was trying to say that maybe mum only lets me eat healthy Asian food. :p

  5. My family had immigrated to Canada about 34 years ago and I haven’t had that since I was a kid. I remember it was very good. Yes, if anyone has a recipe that would be awesome!

Leave a Reply

