What is good chocolate?

Ever since I saw a dessert battle involving chocolate and pears on Iron Chef about 2 or 3 weeks ago, I have been wondering what good chocolate is. The chocolate used on that episode was Valrhona (pronounced “Vah – roh – na”). If Iron Chef featured that chocolate then it must be good!

I googled to see what the fuss is all about. One site pointed me to a shop in Subiaco that carries this brand of chocolate. The shop is a gourmet food store called ‘Simon Johnson – Purveyors of Fine Food’.

Simon Johnson carries a wide range of Valrhona chocolate for both eating and cooking and also carries a variety of other brands of chocolate as well, and since I’m narrow minded and only interested in Valrhona I didnt remember the rest šŸ˜¦ .

I bought these to try:

  1. Gran Couva, $11.55, 75g block, (64% Cacao, Single Estate from Trinidad, 2006 Vintage)
  2. Ampamakia, $11.55, 75g block, (64% Cacao, Single Estate from Madagascar, 2006 Vintage)
  3. Palmira Fino Criollo, $11.55, 75g block, (64% Cacao. Single Estate from Venezuela, 2006 Vintage)
  4. Tanariva, $9.95, 75g block, (33% Cacao, Madagascar)
  5. Jivara Lait, $9.95, 75g block, (40% Cacao)
  6. Cao Grande Organic, $11.00, 100g block, (39% Cacao)

valrhona chocolates
So far I’ve only tried the Cao Grande Organic, and right now, it is the best chocolate I have ever eaten. I don’t really know how to describe how good it is because I have never eaten good chocolate. I guess I won’t be eating any of these in a hurry because they cost about $10 per block. As I am typing this I’m wondering ‘why did I spend 60 dollars on chocolate?’. I guess I’m paying for the experience to see what good chocolate is really about. More to come on how the other chocolates stack up in the near future (when I could afford to eat them!).

More information @ The Nibble (http://www.thenibble.com/reviews/main/chocolate/house-tour.asp)

3 responses to “What is good chocolate?

  1. Mmm… chocolate. I think I’ve only been into Simon Johnson once (when I could be bothered to get out of the house!). It’s a nice gourmet food shop, with its own cheese room. Mmm… chocolate and cheese. šŸ™‚

    I’m glad the $10 chocolate tastes excellent! Do you think it is value for money?

  2. Yes i think its worth it! Well to experience what really good chocolate is I think it is. I read that the cao grande is one of the best organic chocolates you can get! I still havent tried the rest šŸ˜¦

    Hmm i didnt go into the cheese room though! ill probably have a visit next time im in the area.

    There is also another gourmet shop in nedlands called ‘the grocer’ but it is really small. the stuff in the grocer is cheaper, and have more australian stuff but i think simon johnson has more things to look at.

  3. I know of The Grocer, it’s near Mr Weezee, the satay man! šŸ˜€ I love his satay!

Leave a Reply

