Lion Dance in KL’s Chinatown

Ok, I know that Chinese New Year has somewhat passed us like ages ago. But I remember taking some videos from my mobile of an event that left me
with ears that rang non-stop.

Walking around Chinatown in KL’s no easy task. You find people speaking a smattering of Chinese, Canto, Hokkien etc and so much so, there were times when I was at a lost as to which dialect to converse in.

Ok, lion dancing.

The first thing that is conjured up would be images of lions dancing in the
Serengeti  to hip-hop music or to whatever jazzy tune.
Think, Michael Buble or 50 cent :p But no, blame it on my brains that isn’t starved from the lack of sugar atm :p
*as of 6pm, I’ve had enough sugar to last me the entire night without having the need to erm, starve myself* :p

However, that’s not the point in this entry of mine. What I’m about to show you, is the importance of lion dancing in the Chinese culture. Lion Dancing was in the past and at present, used to usher in good fortune and to ward off evil spirits. Well, this was probably China, before Christianity said hello to them.

I cannot however, verify if evil spirits are indeed afraid of these lions,
seeing that they’re manned by human beings, but what I do know is that lions according to the chinese folklore are known to be guardian creatures. But that’s the basic thing you’d have to know about Lion Dances among the chinese. The variation of styles between Northern and Southern Lion Dancing is a different story altogether. This is atypical of chinese art, culture, food etc.

Till then, here’s a short video.  (pardon me but the video and audio quality is bad…and it’s loud!)

6 responses to “Lion Dance in KL’s Chinatown

  1. Nice one! CNY is Asia is great…it’s just not the same over here (then again, maybe I just like public holidays). I remember being absolutely petrified of the lions when I was a child though :p

  2. and there are loads of public holidays over here 😀 I can’t even literally speaking, count them :p

  3. hah…maybe I should move 😉 I just need to work out which country has the most holidays each year!

  4. Maybe you should just win the lotto or marry someone rich and inherit their money; that way you don’t have to work as much as you do. :p

    I missed Lion Dancing this year. Thanks for posting up a little lion dance video clip on here. 🙂

  5. Hehehe! Pat the tail for luck! 😀

  6. Haven’t seen those in a long time. Hopefully next Chinese New Year I will have a chance to see that!~

Leave a Reply

